Skip to main content

School LAND Trust

School LAND Trust Committee

In Utah, monies from school trust lands are distributed to every public school in the state through the School LAND Trust Program. Site-based committees prepare plans, approved by local school boards, which identify an academic need and a proposed solution using the annual funds.  In some schools, this committee is called The Community Council.  At Ascent West Jordan, we are calling it the School LAND Trust (SLT) Committee.  The Committee is comprised of parents of West Jordan students as well as school personnel. The committee membership is capped at 20 members. Elections for the committee will occur at the end of the 2nd-week school. Meetings are open to the public.  More information about the School LAND Trust Program can be found on their website:






2020-2021 Land Trust Committee

     Member Name




     Justin de Jong


Chair (Parent)

     Scott Bywater


Vice Chair (Parent)

     Nancy Ward


Principal / Director

     Christine Polatis



     Debbie Deemer


School Employee

     Jeff Kemp



     Amy Mitchell




Summary of Funds Spent in 2019-2020

Ascent Academy, West Jordan has used Land Trust funds during the 2019-202 school year in an effort to support our 2019-2020 approved plan:

  • We sent a teacher to the Confrutate Conference to support SEM in the building
  • We spent $9400 for student tutoring. Though more was allocated, we were unable to continue tutoring because of the Covid soft closure in March.
  • We spent $2500 on Brain Pop, to supplement student proficiency.
  • Teacher stipends and support for PD cost approximately $38,000.
  • Computer carts and Chomebooks were purchased with most of the remaining funds. This is in support of all academic learning, and is especially important at this time, with periodic school closures and quarantines. 


Land Trust Meeting

Ascent Academy

November 12, 2020

5:30 pm



Introductions of members

Introduction of Land Trust purposes and requirements

Study of previous school plan

Review of the use of money in 2019-2020

Study of previous school data – Nancy Ward

Discussion of goals for our 2020-2021


Future Meetings

Discussion of use of funds

Actions Items:

Decide on basic goals 2021

Decide of use of funds 2021



Date Agenda Minutes
August 8, 2019 Agenda  Minutes
September 19, 2019 Agenda Minutes
September 26, 2019

online meeting

October 24, 2019 Agenda Minutes
November 21, 2019 Agenda Minutes
December 19, 2019 Agenda Minutes
January 23, 2020 Agenda Minutes
February 27, 2020 Agenda Minutes
March 12, 2020 Agenda


April 16, 2020 Cancelled  
May 14, 2020 Zoom Meeting. Link to attend available upon request Minutes


School LAND Trust Archive

School LAND Trust Navigation

Campus Calendar

This Week's Events